Hays Regional Eco-Meet

The Hays Regional Eco-Meet includes 16 counties: Cheyenne, Rawlins, Decatur, Norton, Phillips, Rush, Sherman, Thomas, Sheridan, Graham, Rooks, Wallace, Logan, Gove, Trego, and Ellis.

Up to 28 teams are accepted at this event. Participating schools may bring up to 4 teams, but if space is available, additional teams may be allowed. Grade levels 8-12 may compete.


Scholarship availability is dependent on the willingness of sponsors to contribute to our Hays Regional ECO-Meet scholarship fund. If you would like to donate, or know of someone who might like to donate, please contact Mike Rader.

When funding is available, the following scholarships are awarded to qualifying students:

  • 1st Place Team: $100 per student
  • 2nd Place Team: $75 per student
  • 3rd Place Team: $50 per student
  • 1st Place Individuals for each exam: $75
  • 2nd Place Individuals for each exam: $50
  • 1st and 2nd Place in the Herpetology exam will also receive a One-Year Membership to the Kansas Herpetological Society.

Those who qualify have the opportunity to earn additional scholarship awards at State!

When: Thursday, October 5

Where: Sternberg Museum

Contact: Mike Rader, (620)-672-0708

2017 Registration

Coach Letter  | Registration Form | Photo Release

2017 Schedule

 Coaches should complete the registration form at least 2 weeks prior to the competition. We also require a $8 fee per person (students and adults). Registration for 2017 is due on September 22. 

Send registration and checks to:

ATTN: Mike Rader
KDWPT – Pratt Operations Office
512 SE 25th Ave
Pratt, KS 67124

Email: mike.rader@ks.gov

Photo release forms can be brought with you on the day of the competition. Each student and coach participating should sign a photo release. This form is optional, but filling it out allows us to publish photos of the competition and winning teams.

On competition day, breakfast and lunch will be provided for students and coaches! If someone in your group has dietary needs, contact Mike Rader.

Are you a scholarship winner?

Scholarship Claim Form

Collect your scholarship awards after you’re enrolled in a college, university, or similar postsecondary institution. Follow the instructions on the form, and we’ll take care of the rest!

If you don’t remember the amount you’ve earned, contact Mike Rader (mike.rader@ks.gov).

Congratulations 2017 Champions!

2017 Hays Results

1st Place: Stockton High School

L-R: coach Andrew Ables, Trent Howell, Madalyn Billinger, Tierney Kester, and Trey Kuhlman.
Each team member received a $100 scholarship award.