Great Plains Nature Center

Wichita Regional Eco-Meet

The Wichita Regional Eco-Meet includes 8 counties: Sedgwick, Sumner, Harper, Cowley, Chautauqua, Elk, Greenwood, and Butler.

Up to 20 teams are accepted at this event, and participating schools may bring up to 4 teams. Grade levels 8-12 may compete.


The following scholarships are awarded to qualifying students:

  • 1st Place Team: $100 per student
  • 2nd Place Team: $75 per student
  • 3rd Place Team: $50 per student
  • 1st Place Individuals for each exam: $75
  • 2nd Place Individuals for each exam: $50
  • 1st and 2nd Place in the Herpetology exam will also receive a One-Year Membership to the Kansas Herpetological Society.

Those who qualify have the opportunity to earn additional scholarship awards at State!

When: Tuesday October 10, 2017

Where: Great Plains Nature Center in Wichita, KS

Contact: Rachel Roth  •  (316) 683-5499

2017 Registration

Registration Form | Photo Release

 Coaches should complete the registration form at least 2 weeks prior to the competition. We also require a $10 fee per student. Registration for 2017 is due on September 26. 

Send registration and checks to:

ATTN: Rachel Roth
Great Plains Nature Center
6232 E 29th St N
Wichita, KS, 67220

Fax: (316) 688-9555


Photo release forms can be brought with you on the day of the competition. Each student and coach participating should sign a photo release. This form is optional, but filling it out allows us to publish photos of the competition and winning teams.

On competition day,  lunch will be provided for students and coaches! If someone in your group has dietary needs, contact Rachel Roth. Teams will enjoy a presentation in the auditorium by a guest speaker before the award ceremony begins.

Note: Coaches will have access to free WiFi during the competition!

Are you a scholarship winner?

Scholarship Claim Form

Collect your scholarship awards after you’re enrolled in a college, university, or similar postsecondary institution. Follow the instructions on the form, and we’ll take care of the rest!

If you don’t remember the amount you’ve earned, contact Rachel Roth (

Congratulations 2017 Champions!

2017 Wichita Results

1st Place: Goddard High School Blue Team

L-R: Coach Marylee Ramsay, Sarah Tomtschik, Jadyn Hurst, Cameron Boyd, and Cade Crosby.
Each team member received a $100 scholarship award.