Wilson Lake Eco-Meet

Wilson Lake Regional Eco-Meet

The Wilson Lake Regional Eco-Meet includes 8 counties: Smith, Osborne, Russell, Barton, Jewell, Mitchell, and Lincoln.

Up to 28 teams are accepted at this event. Participating schools may bring up to 4 teams, but if space is available, additional teams may be allowed. Grade levels 8-12 may compete.


The following scholarships are awarded to qualifying students:

  • 1st Place Team: $100 per student
  • 2nd Place Team: $75 per student
  • 3rd Place Team: $50 per student
  • 1st Place Individuals for each exam: $75
  • 2nd Place Individuals for each exam: $50
  • 1st and 2nd Place in the Herpetology exam will also receive a One-Year Membership to the Kansas Herpetological Society.

Those who qualify have the opportunity to earn additional scholarship awards at State!

When: Wednesday, October 4

Where: US Corps of Engineers Administration Area/Sylvan Park

Contact: Ellen Rader (785)658-2465 x200 or Mike Rader (620)672-0708

2017 Registration

Coach LetterRegistration Form | Photo Release

2017 Schedule

 Coaches should complete the registration form at least 2 weeks prior to the competition. We also require a $5 fee per person (students and adults). Registration for 2017 is due on September 20. 

Send registration and checks to:

ATTN: Ellen Rader
Wilson State Park
#3 State Park Rd
Sylvan Grove, KS 67481

Email: ellen.rader@ks.gov

Photo release forms can be brought with you on the day of the competition. Each student and coach participating should sign a photo release. This form is optional, but filling it out allows us to publish photos of the competition and winning teams.

On competition day, breakfast and lunch will be provided for students and coaches! If someone in your group has dietary needs, contact Ellen Rader.

Are you a scholarship winner?

Scholarship Claim Form

Collect your scholarship awards after you’re enrolled in a college, university, or similar postsecondary institution. Follow the instructions on the form, and we’ll take care of the rest!

If you don’t remember the amount you’ve earned, contact Mike Rader (mike.rader@ks.gov).

Congratulations 2017 Champions!

2017 Wilson Lake Results

1st Place: Wilson High School “A”

L-R: Kaitlyn Hoeffner, Riley Dietz, Katelyn Zelenka, Kamdyn Thrasher (coach Megan Zelenka not pictured)
Each team member received a $100 scholarship award.